More from the Kitty

Standard

One of the clients that I frequently make pastries for has a daughter with a peanut allergy. This little girls loves Hello Kitty, so for her birthday I made cake pops and cookies with her favorite kitty. There are a few tutorials online for forming the Hello Kitty cake pops, but all of the tutorials I’ve seen include using white chocolate chips to form the ear shape before dipping. I tested using regular chocolate chips but found that the chocolate sometimes showed through after dipping the pops in white chocolate. I can’t always find white chocolate chips that don’t have a peanut warning, so I came up with my own solution. After forming the cake balls into an oval shape I put the balls in the freezer to get them chilled, then I use a small squeeze bottle fitted with a #2 piping tip and pipe on chocolate chip shaped ears. I then chill the balls again, insert the sticks and dip as usual.

20120724-133000.jpg
I use Bakers brand white chocolate to dip the pops, most candy melts have a peanut warning, and the Bakers brand is a good quality chocolate. The other tutorials I’ve seen also call for using a mini M&M for the center of Kitty’s bow, again they have a peanut warning, so I just pipe tiny bows with royal icing let them dry, then attach the bows to the dried pops using a tiny dot of royal icing.

20120724-133405.jpg

20120724-133442.jpg

20120724-133457.jpg

One response »

  1. These are not only delicious, but also incredibly cute. You did a wonderful job on figuring out how to make these for your allergic client. Well Done…..

Leave a Reply

